Wedding hair

February 16, 2010

So even though I’m swamped this week, I thought I should try to squeeze in a blog post or two for you! We have a pretty big to-do list going on, most of which is wedding stuff, of course. Only 72 days to go…so we better get busy!

First things first: On Valentine’s Day, Jon gave me a tourism book on Italy and said, “I booked the trip. We’re going to Italy!” So starting the Sunday after our wedding, we’ll be departing for a tour of Rome, Venice, and Florence! I really can’t wait! Neither of us has been to Italy OR on a tour, so this should be super fun. We figured a tour would be the easiest way to travel this time, since neither of us speak Italian either. And we won’t have to think about transportation, hotels, ANYTHING! The only thing I just have to do is find an opera performance (despite that the season will be over). I simply cannot go to the birthplace of opera and not see one…or two, or three…well, you get the idea. So, to sum up, I am VERY EXCITED for our honeymoon.

But this week, I’m turning my attention to something else: finding a salon to do hair and makeup for the wedding. Does anyone have any suggestions before I go over to Aveda and book them? That’s really the only place I know in Winston-Salem. As far as hair goes, I’m thinking something simple and romantic. Probably a low chignon like the one below (and you have to forgive me, I just took quick screenshots of these images and didn’t try to crop them well). I don’t know who this beautiful bride is, but you can see more of her, her wedding, and Mary Jane Photography here.

I’m not sure how I feel about the chignon on the side though–It makes for great photos from one angle, and looks like nothing from the other side! I think I’d rather have it in the back of my head, but maybe I’ll let the hairdresser play around with it until we find what we like. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see!

I can’t really imagine my hair down (it will just frizz up like you wouldn’t believe!) or in a high updo (those seem to either be too princessy or too trashy). Any other suggestions from you other future brides?

2 Responses to “Wedding hair”

  1. Heather Says:

    I would highly recommend Courtney Pope @ Van Davis Aveda. She’s one of my boyfriend’s life-long friends, and cut my hair during my time at WFU. Great girl, friendly, and has an awesome sense of style. Tell her I referred you ;)

  2. Brooke and Jon Says:

    Thanks Heather! I will look into that!


Leave a Reply

