So this big news I promised you yesterday…

February 10, 2010

Ready to hear it?

Today was my first day as a publicist at Blair Publishing, here in Winston-Salem.

Well, I shouldn’t say a publicist. The company is so small (10 employees), I’m the publicist. And so far (all one day of it), it’s great! The people are wonderful, the work seems like it’s perfect for me, and best of all, I’m working with one of my first and greatest loves: books! Fiction, nonfiction, poetry, memoirs, comedy, you name it! And I’m really liking the atmosphere–I’ve worked for big corporations for so long that this small, independent publishing company is SO refreshing. At those big corporations, there’s a definite hierarchy of workers at different skill levels and too many people working on so many projects that no one really knows what the big picture is (well, that last part’s not so true for Corporate Executive Board, but it’s definitely the case at Corning). But at Blair Publishing, it’s like one small team working together and getting things done…and I love it! At least, after the first day. I hope it stays that way! :)

So in the next chapter of my life, I’ll be building Blair Publishing’s social media marketing plan (doing things like twitter, Facebook, and starting up their blog), coordinating book tours for authors, going to book conventions in Nashville, Florida, New York, etc. (could that sound any nerdier? I love it!), things like that. Wish me luck! I’m really hoping that this could be my calling–I’ve been looking for a career that I actually  love for so long and I haven’t yet found it, and it’s about time!

One Response to “So this big news I promised you yesterday…”

  1. Blair Says:

    With a name like Blair Publishing, you can’t go wrong! Can’t wait to see you Friday!!!


Leave a Reply

