Just keep swimming, just keep swimming…

January 19, 2010

As if it weren’t hard enough in August, when I uprooted myself from my life and job in D.C. to come back to North Carolina after Jon proposed. Now I’m shaking things up again.

On Thursday of last week, I up and quit my job. I’d been contemplating it for a while, and when my boss basically told me that her time was more valuable than mine, I’d reached the last straw. So Jon and I chatted about it, and I quit. The end. Goodbye, Hickory, N.C.!

So now I’m starting all over. Again. And I have no idea what I want to do. Working toward a master’s degree would be great, but I’d have to take the GRE, pass it, and then get into a grad school…and I’d need to pick something I like enough to spend another two years studying it, which, at this point, is a tough decision. Or I could keep looking for a full-time position in Winston-Salem and most likely set aside all the experience I’ve worked up over the past few years as a writer/editor because there are no jobs in that industry here (that would be why I moved to D.C. in the first place).  Or I could really give the freelance thing a go–I just have no idea how to start that. This is tougher than I thought.

The one thing I think I’d really like to do is try to build up a calligraphy/invitation design business. I’ve got the pens and ink, some creative ideas, the full Abobe creative suite at my fingers…now I just need some clients and a business plan. Hmm…

Well, in the meantime, I’m just trying to stay positive and take it all one day at a time–which, I’ve realized, is sometimes harder than it sounds. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

