Bonne Année !

January 1, 2010

Welcome, 2010! I could not be more excited for you to be here! Did I mention we’re getting married in less than 4 months?!

Last night Jon and I hosted a little dinner party together for some of our dear friends. I came home early from work to clean and get things set up before our guests arrived, and Jon made his specialty–amazing stuffed peppers. We watched the Virginia Tech game and played a few games until the ball dropped in Times Square. We ended the night with Inglourious Basterds in Blu-Ray and finally made it to bed at 4 a.m. And so today, we’re exhausted!

This being our first dinner party, I was in for a few surprises. Like spending two days frantically cleaning to prepare for the party, only to wake up the day after and have an even bigger mess than  you started with! But the best part about the cleaning this time is that I found a case of red wine in the dining room! I don’t know how long it’s been there–and neither does Jon, which is kind of weird–but I’m not complaining. Apparently his parents bought it for him ages ago. We will definitely make some use out of that. :)

But the thing that really has me excited is my little decanter than I purchased months ago. We used it for the first time yesterday, and just a few minutes ago I realized that the neck of the bottle holds a cork! Now, maybe I’m naive, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a decanter like that! It makes me feel rustic and Italian. :) I had to take a photo:

I still need to work on my photography skills–and I haven’t even tried to spruce this one up in Photoshop. I need to fix the lighting in it.

If you’re interested in purchasing one of these decanters for yourself, you can find it here at vivaterra.com. Such a cute little online store!

Now I’m off to make more gluten-free cupcakes (my sister the actress is moving back to L.A. in a few days, and we’re having a farewell party for her tomorrow). I hope you all have wonderful things planned for 2010! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

