Finding the bridesmaids dresses…

September 26, 2009

Originally, I was hoping to find dresses in a neutral champagne/gold color (I had been planning on doing everything in champagne, ivory, and black, with splashes of bright, vibrant color in the flowers and a few other places). I still love that idea, but when three of my maids came shopping with me, they all loved this dress in this color:

JHplum

I’m on board with what Jim Hjelm calls “plum” (although it’s more like eggplant–almost black). And since Jon wants the guys to wear tuxes, I think this dress would compliment them well. So I had settled on having the girls wear this dress and using orangey-red calla lillies, which would make Jon the happiest groom ever (and surrounded by Virginia Tech colors).

Well, then something else came up–I have a pregnant bridesmaid!

This news is super exciting!  And the mom- and dad-to-be are very happy about this, which is fantastic. Congratulations to Ms. E! I can’t wait for the baby. :)

But in the meantime, I have to figure out what to do about the dresses!  I could stick with the plum Jim Hjelm dress for everyone and find something similar for Elizabeth–which is probably the easiest thing to do. But then again, this has given me a good excuse to rethink everything! So I’ve been looking around and having fun with it.

Now I’m thinking of switching everything up, giving the girls a color palette and letting them pick there own dresses in different colors and styles. I’ve always loved this idea, and with a pregnant bridesmaid, I think it makes so much sense. The Green Wedding Shoes Blog has some great examples here. We could do something like this: 

maidsdresses

Vera Wang has a good selection of dresses in color families. I still like the color champagne, and she has a few that a similar (called cafe, antique gold, and sand dune). If she does maternity dresses, we’d be set! I like these:

biscuitdresscafedresschampagnedress

golddressnutmegdresscafedress2

So who knows what we’ll end up doing. I’m also thinking of using lighter colors, like yellow or peach. I love the elegance of the champagne colors, but since we’re thinking about incorporating pinwheels into our wedding (more about that later), I might like something more fun and flirty. For now, I’m keeping my eyes open and looking for something amazing.

One Response to “Finding the bridesmaids dresses…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Love the look of the girls in the lace dresses with the bride in that photo! So original!!


Leave a Reply

